Self-Examination…

Everything I'm not…Makes me Everything I am…

My Journey Back to the Field…

Not long ago I was eating and swapping stories with some old football buddies and they began to joke about me being the oldest on the team. It made me think of what I had to go through to get to this point in my life.

Before this season, I had been away from the football field for 5 seasons. That’s longer than most player’s entire college careers. I’ve been to Los Angeles to Fort Collins and now I am here in Knoxville at the University of Tennessee.

There have been a number of bumps in the road preventing me from playing football at the college level. Starting with being undersized for the sport and dealing with all the politics involved with the sport, then dealing with injuries all while trying to juggle me2being a student and a young father as well. But I could not let these obstacles deter me from my dream. I had to maintain my faith and keep pushing towards my goal. I had to refuse to quit. I had to mend an old wound and I hope to inspire others by doing so.

In the spring of 2009, I finally became a part of the Tennessee Volunteers football team; two years after enrolling. I went through the spring dealing with even more complications that kept me away from the field for most of spring practice. I went all the way through the summer not knowing if I would be invited to fall camp.

On the first day of camp I received a call to report to fall camp and to move into the dorm. I was excited because it was official, but I was also nervous because this would be the first camp I had experienced since high school. It was a great feeling. However, I had played cornerback and two days into camp I was moved to Running back. I hadnt played that position since I was in junior high. I was nervous, but I felt that it was a better move for me.

Throughout camp I had turned some heads with my surprising play at a position I hadnt played in almost 10 years. In our first scrimmage I only received one carry because I had just been moved to the position. It ended up being a run that caught the eye of many of the coaches. The next week I received praise from many of them. But when our Defensive Coordinator, Monte Kiffin, the greatest defensive mind in all of football came up to me, I knew I had done something right. I continued to do this through the rest of camp, but towards the end of camp, the tide turned on me again.

I became ill in the last few days of camp and missed the most important scrimmage. When I returned the next week, I had lost some ground and wasn’t able to compete. After about a week I was back into the routine and had another great week.

On September 5, 2009, I was able to experience some great Tennessee traditions. I was able to do the Vol Walk and run through the “T.” The next week I was on the service team helping prepare our defense for the #1 Florida Gators. The defensive coaches were ecstatic of my efforts. But….again, another hurdle was thrown in my way.

meWhile doing team drills that week, I made a plant on my left foot and was unable to put any weight on it. I later learned that I had torn the tendon on the bottom of my foot. Not again…

I wondered if God was telling me that I needed to stop. But I don’t believe he gave me the opportunity to experience these things for no reason. Sometimes God uses trials to get us back on track. Most of us have chosen an unhealthy and worldly lifestyle that is self-destructive. Most of the times trials can knock us back to our senses. It can give us a reality check. All is not well. And most importantly you are not well.

Well today was my first day back on the field in over 7 weeks. My foot isnt completely healthy but I was able to take part in all the practice drills and I am excited to be back. On my first carry I was given a good “Welcome Back” smack.

I hope to inspire all of you with my story. I just want to let all of you know that things get hard but that doesn’t mean that its time to give up.

Trials are opportunity for your personal growth and greatness. Do not run away from it.

October 29, 2009 - Posted by | Encouragement, Inspiration, My Life..., Tennessee Football

3 Comments »

  1. Talk about perserverance! Keep up the good work and PUSH! (Pray Until Something Happens)

    Comment by Grand Diva | October 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. NOW THIS IS WHAT I’M TALKING ABOUT…..A MAN THAT WANTS MORE FOR HIMSELF THAN TO GIVE UP AND FOLLOW ING THE FOOT STEPS OF FAILURE….SEAN I APPLAUDE YOU FOR ALL THE STRUGGLES THAT I HAVE SEEN U GO THRU BUT MOST OF ALL FOR THE STRENGTH THAT YOU HAVE ENDURED THROUGH IT.

    Comment by REESE | November 4, 2009 | Reply

    • Thank you for the comment. I will continue to push. I have a long way to go.

      Comment by Sean White | December 20, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

