Self-Examination…

Everything I'm not…Makes me Everything I am…

Living Simply…

Are you blowing it?

What is your standard of living? Is it the same as your parents, or even your grandparents? I bet your standards are much higher. It’s funny to me how things that we believe are necessities are things our grandparents would call luxuries. Could that be why we are so ungrateful? We all shouldn’t make ourselves feel so deprived.

The more I pay attention to what we spend our money on, the more I see that these things are not necessities at all. They are just wants.

We should all start to live more simply. Living simply can only help to sober us. Im am now learning that we need to control our desires and focus more on things that actually matter and the things that are actually needed. By focusing on the smaller things, it seems as if I am able to enjoy life more. The less time I spend trying to force riches or trying to impress people, the more I am enjoying life. I am also being able to experience more by doing so.

By trying to live more simply, it has helped me to get my priorities straight. I am giving my attention to what is really important to me, like my daughter, family, friends, and most importantly my GOD. Yes, I still enjoy nice things, but the feelings I get by receiving these nice things seems to only last for a short moment of time. The feelings are temporary.

Living simply has also given me an opportunity to live more and give more to those in need.

So why live simply?

Because living simply allows you to LIVE!

November 1, 2009 - Posted by | Inspiration, Personal Finance

2 Comments »

  1. You are so right Fam!

    People these days are never satisfied. We acquire the things that we want and when we have them, we want bigger and better. I am guilty of this at times. I truly believe that at the end of the day it’s all about having restrait. The end of Ecclesiastes 10:19 says money answers all things, but what we do with are money play a large roll in whether or not we are using are resources wisely. People aquire all this debt trying to keep up with “The Jones” and that is nothing but the enemy trying to tell us that tangible possesions are what defines us. I rebuke that! No way will I be forced to get up every morning so I can go to a job just to give all of my money away every two weeks because I’m living above my means….. NOT ME PLAYA LOL!!

    Comment by Steven Jacobs | November 2, 2009 | Reply

    • You are right. These are the kinds of things Im learning from Dave Ramsey. The motto is “Live like no one else, so later you can live like no one else.” I use this when it comes to my faith and finances.

      Comment by Sean White | November 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

