Self-Examination…

Everything I'm not…Makes me Everything I am…

Are you falling??? Part I

Have you fallen?

Many of us try to make a change in certain areas of our life. For the first month or so, everything is going great, then suddenly you revert back into your old ways. Then we start to doubt ourselves and just give up. Don’t worry though. It happens to the best of us.

Recently Ive felt like Ive fallen. Coming out of high school I was at an all time high and the last couple of years I was probably at my lowest point in my life. I felt like I had failed my family. Luckily my family didn’t see it that way and that helped me to keep my head. My focus was where it should not have been and I found myself falling apart in certain areas of my life because I was so determined to get one thing. I would start to get frustrated with myself. I became lazy and replaced my productive time with time to sit on my butt and dwell on the negatives.

However, this is not the only time this has happened to me. Ive backslid on trying to control my spending, sticking to my diet, staying in my Bible daily, and so on.

fallenangelThis seems to be common for any of us. So why do we do it? I believe this happens because we don’t plan accordingly. Either we haven’t planned our success, or our plan has some major flaws!

What kind of flaws?

Over the next few post I will go over what these flaws are. The first I tend to notice is poor time management. Many of us feel like we don’t have enough time in the day to complete everything we want to do. But most of us don’t realize how much time we waste in our day doing unproductive things that some call “Black Holes.” We sleep 4 more hours than we need to. We watch 5 hours of television or talk on the phone gossiping about people who don’t even matter. Imagine what you could have done with that time.

Solution? Eliminate these black holes. If you don’t have black holes, then work harder on your current task so that you can finish them sooner to allow yourself more time for other task. Get ahead by completing certain task that don’t take much effort. Take care of things in the household as they come so that they don’t build up and seem to be a lot of work.

Next, I will talk about false commitments…

November 3, 2009 - Posted by | Encouragement

1 Comment »

  1. This is real talk right here. Time management is everything.

    Comment by Leabre McNeal | November 3, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

