Self-Examination…

Everything I'm not…Makes me Everything I am…

My Motivation for Success…Part III

The time had come for me to move back to Colorado. There was no way that I was going to be away from my child and not be there to watch her grow. So after the semester ended, I hopped right onto a plane to head back to Denver to prepare for this baby girl. This was a very scary moment in my life, knowing that I would have to care and be responsible for another life. It scared me to the point that my “MOTIVATION FOR SUCCESS” came back to me.

I was motivated to do something I loved. I just wasn’t exactly sure of what it was at the time. I always had a list of things I would want to do (I still have this list.) but at the time I wasn’t qualified to do any of those things.  I still had to find a way to provide for this baby on the way.

About a week after I returned to Denver, my Godmother had talked to me about taking a job at a middle school as a paraprofessional. I decided to take her up on that offer. Being a server is something I’ve always enjoyed, so I decided to give it a shot.

I put on my interview face, and of course my interview outfit. I didn’t own a suit at the time and I doubt that the interview required one so a button-up and some slacks would have to suffice.  I still had long hair (My father wasn’t very fond of the “braids”) so I had to get my corn-rows freshly done.

I wish I could say that my nice button-up and corn-rows impressed the Principal enough to give me a shot, but in reality, that opportunity may have never come without my Godmother.  I didn’t care though. I was just appreciative of the opportunity.

I do remember the interview well though. The teachers I would be helping double-teamed me. One of the teachers did most of the talking. They would ask me questions that I don’t feel I had the best answers to so I just smiled often and hoped that would get me by.  I tried to pull out every lame interview trick I knew. I went on about how I would work really hard and be dependable.  For some reason I felt like I was getting that, “You’re lucky you are who you are” look. But they continued with their questions and I continued to smile and be honest. It seemed to have worked out for me. They began to smile more and seem more relaxed. I was in there!

What does all of this mean? Not much yet. Just some small details that I wanted to tell of how I’ve become who I’ve become.  You have to wait until part III. I have to hit this rehab session to get my knee better.

January 28, 2010 - Posted by | My Life..., Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

